Fans and Racers Pack Richter Pass Motorplex

This past weekend the Osoyoos airport was transformed by the volunteers of Wine Country Racing Association (WCRA) into Richter Pass Motorplex. The valley-wide Car Club Challenge saw its sixth year draw in four car clubs, 94 drivers and over 600 fans. The Kelowna Kustoms, the Okanagan Rodtiques and Oliver’s Coachmasters welcomed the Cam Jammers from Vernon into the mix-up on Sunday.

Oliver’s Cliff Meeds was able to even up the score for the Coachmasters. The Kustoms, Rodtiques and Coachmasters all boast two wins. I’m sure next year the Cam Jammers will be back to see what kind of upset they can cause in the ratings.

Meeds snatched the trophy and prize money in his 1949 Ford pick-up to victory over Kelowna Kustoms’ Darren Williams’ 1937 Buick coupe.

The winner of the “Fast Eight” challenge among the car club members is Reg Krutom. Krutom and his 1958 Yeoman station wagon take a cool hundred bucks back home to Kelowna.

The Rumble in the Valley is always a delight to fans and racers alike.

Results for brackets are as follows:

Street Warrior: Trevan Zimmer (Kelowna, BC – 1988 Mazda RX7) took the win over Kevin Clarke Penticton, BC – 1973 Camaro)

Street Bracket: Glenn Taylor (Osoyoos, BC – 1951 Mercury pick-up) took the win over Tyler Sopel (Lumby, BC – 1965 Beaumont)

Pro Bracket: Ron Carlson (Kelowna, BC – 1970 Nova) took the win over Lee Orsborn (Rock Creek, BC – 1982 Mustang)

Super Pro: Rae Caswell (Lower Nicola, BC – 1927 Ford Roadster) took the win over Brad Heppner (Malakwa, BC – 1989 Dragster)

Bike/Sled: Warren Brown (Oliver, BC – 2002 Kawasaki) took the win over Terry Soluk (Ok Falls, BC – 2007 Kawasaki)

Reaction Time: Brad Heppner (Malakwa, BC – 1989 Dragster) grabbed up the best reaction time with a PERFECT .500 light.

If your family missed this event, don’t fret. WCRA has one more race this year. Sunday October 11, you’ll get your chance to take in the action at Richter Pass Motorplex. Gates open at 9 a.m. Racing starts around 11 a.m.Elimination round starts at 1 p.m. Go to for more details.